Peanut and Poppy


I Want to be in Your Heart
May 23, 2011, 8:30 pm
Filed under: FaithFULL

Jimmy and I have been working very diligently with Taylor on prayer. Months ago, we were having a hard time getting her to sit still and act respectful during our nightly prayers. We tried several different “techniques” and explanations as to what it means to pray. She’s really made huge progress on praying prayers now that actually make sense, that seem like they are truly coming from her heart. Don’t get me wrong, she has her moments where she prays for things that may seem silly to us. But, more often than not, her prayers are amazing. So simple, yet so powerful. She’s getting it. She identifies opportunities to pray (other than at nighttime), people to pray for, and things to give thanks for. It’s so refreshing to see this little heart understand a Man that took me 30 years to “get”. Prayer answered for me, for sure.

So for the past few nights, she has been saying something during her prayers that has resonated with me and Jimmy. She’s said, every night, something to the effect of “God, I don’t know what to pray for tonight but I know that I love you and I want to be in your heart and in the angels heart and in the hearts of everybody.” She says it with such passion, I wish you could hear it. It’s precious, convincing. So, tonight, Jimmy said that it wouldn’t hurt to give her words to think about, words that say what we think she is trying to say. We feel that you can never be too young to ask Jesus into your heart. And so she did.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment