Peanut and Poppy


Spring Break: Southern Style
April 1, 2011, 2:26 pm
Filed under: Family Fun

I love my family. I love that I have my mom, dad and brother; that Taylor and Aubri are the center of attention on our side of the family. That time spent with them is intimate and low key, that the girls get utterly spoiled with attention by Nana, Grandpa and Uncle Matt. I love that.

I also adore being a Brady. The family that I married into is so different than who I thought I was. But, as it turns out, the longer I am married, the more I like this side of me.

I love that, at all times, there are a half dozen people in the kitchen drinking coffee and talking while there are several others outside shooting shotguns and riding dirt bikes. I love that we stay up late with a room full of long-time family friends, laughing about memories of a young Jimmy being tortured by his older sister’s boyfriends/now husbands. I love that tattling and screaming is constant, that masses of cousins trample through the house nonstop. I smile when I think about how, when we’re all together, we keep Yoo-Hoo and Bugles in business, as if Memaw’s constant home cooking doesn’t stuff our stomachs enough.

Time with the Bradys is loud and full of activity, yet I always leave with a sense of relaxation and soul satisfaction. They’ve showed me a side of myself that I didn’t know existed: the Southern food eatin’, family room loungin’, four-wheel ridin’, gun shootin’ Carolina girl.

Spring break 2011 events and activities included my first experience with a four wheeler and a pistol, Aubri’s first out-loud laughter and her first time rolling over, Taylor’s first time getting car sick as we drove through torturous mountains, a lunch with Mawmaw and what Tay calls “the sale” where Mawmaw gave several of her belongings to the children and grandchildren. Kids danced with the Wii, adults talked, I ate my weight in biscuits, Aubri got spoiled with snuggles and Taylor convinced even her 13-year old cousin to play tea party with her. Eight days of family, food and fun. Bliss.

At the moment, we get about two times a year with the entire Brady family: spring break at Memaw and Papaw’s house and summer vacation at the beach. Spring break just concluded two weeks ago and we are already itching for July to get here so we can reconvene at the beach house.

Enough talking. Time for the visuals. Here’s a quick video offering you a taste of Spring Break 2011 with the Brady family.

And you know a vacation wouldn’t be a vacation without me bringing my camera. Here’s some stills, narrowed from 300 pictures to 25. Enjoy. And happy spring ya’ll!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment