Peanut and Poppy


A Taste of My Childhood
August 7, 2010, 10:21 am
Filed under: A Day in the Life, Baby Butterfly

I’m falling more and more in love with my neighborhood. The longer we live here (almost three years now), the more young families move in. FINALLY. Mommies to talk to about how to manage toddlerhood, spur of the moment playdates, and daddies that lend a hand when you need that heavy piece of furniture moved. So, this past weekend, all of the parents planned a cookout in the cul-de-sac. We all brought food, and our families. Turned out, we had nine kids under the age of five and two babies in bellies. And half of the other families couldn’t make it. We have a BIG crowd of kids here, and I love it. The cookout reminded me a lot of the childhood memories that I treasure. Warm summer afternoons gathered in driveways, hot dogs and brownies, potato salad and “worms in dirt” dessert, kids riding bikes freely in the street, sprinklers and baby pool peppering the yards, all the while parents sit and socialize. I love love love our neighborhood.

And for my non-Facebooking family, here’s the latest baby bump update. 28 weeks, and growing bigger every day!


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] weekend, our neighbors hosted an oyster roast. I have mentioned this in the past, but I can’t say it enough: I love my neighborhood. I think it’s so precious that we […]

Pingback by Welcome Spring « Peanut and Poppy

[…] weekend, our neighbors hosted an oyster roast. I have mentioned this in the past, but I can’t say it enough: I love my neighborhood. I think it’s so precious that we […]

Pingback by Welcome Spring « Peanut and Poppy




Leave a comment