Peanut and Poppy


A Lot to Celebrate
April 21, 2010, 1:09 pm
Filed under: A Day in the Life, Holidays

Friday was a milestone birthday for Jimmy. The big three-oohhhhh noooo. Yep, he’s another decade older and now joins me in the ranks of the thirties. Aside from the achy bones and gray hairs that haunt his near future, we had a lot to celebrate on his special day. Which we did with lots of eating out (note, we NEVER eat out), thanks to gift cards from family. And I made a cake all by myself for the very first time. It was from a box, but I still had to do the egg cracking, mixing, baking and frosting. Hard work.

And this was the result. I call it my “California Cake”, due to the large fault line that formed down the center of my beautifully baked red velvet cake.

Jimmy was really excited.

The cake was just the beginning of our extended birthday celebration. We did the beach, where I got wind-lashed, Jimmy fished, and Taylor made friends with a couple boys that parked near us (yeah, PARKED. On the sand. Gotta love Carolina Beach).

Jimmy had to work on Saturday and we had a showing on the house, so Taylor and I headed to the pool for our first visit of the season. The water was chilly, but the sun was HOT. Taylor attempted to make friends with everyone that visited the pool that day. She approached every single person that entered the gate, asking “will you play with me?” From a 90-year couple that was not-so-interested in playing frisbee to a 20-something that gave her the silent treatment and a serious case of eye rolling.

But the quiet pool deck gave me a chance to shoot some pictures.

And in doing so, it hit me. My little girl is not so little anymore. She’s outgrowing her baby belly, her legs are long, she no longer has fluffy-diaper-swimsuit-butt, and she doesn’t stumble over the pool edge. In fact, she acts like she owns the place.

How did my little baby go from this pudgy bikini baby, to this … girl, in just two years?

Sigh. OK, back to today.

Since no one was around, she did lots of dancing in her tutu suit,

and lots of splashing and jumping. Ready, set …

JUMP.

After EIGHT hours at the pool, we headed home to greet Daddy and eat a yummy steak dinner. Sunday brought another meal out, and a lazy family afternoon.

I’m now sitting here, sunburnt, reflecting on how many blessings we have to celebrate with this birthday.

A beautiful little girl.

And a new baby on the way, God willing. (This was at 12.5 weeks).

I hope and pray that this is the one. Taylor is so sweet, hugging my belly every day, giving kisses to the baby, praying for the baby, feeding the baby through my belly button, and telling everyone that she meets, “I’m going to be a big sister.”

This baby is, first and foremost, for God. For our family to feel complete. And for Taylor to experience a love that she has not yet been blessed with. The giving and receiving of sibling love.

God is good.


5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Blessings Blessings Blessings!! We’ll be praying for you guys.
PS both my girls have that suit and love to dance at the pool

Comment by KJ

I am so happy for you guys. A beautiful girl and a baby on the way!

Comment by Kate Snyder

Well I think you already know my feelings on that new baby growing in your belly 🙂 And we definitely need to get a picture this summer of Taylor and Lillian. After you told me about that suit, I went out and bought one for my little princess!!

Comment by Diana

WOOOOOOO!

Congratulations. Will be praying for you.

Comment by Erin Seabolt Bond

[…] had a birthday. Last year’s red velvet fault cake was a failure, but this year’s ended in sweet success. And, as you can see from the photo, Tay had consumed […]

Pingback by Savoring the Season « Peanut and Poppy




Leave a comment